I Do Good Things

At times I feel maudlin and insignificant in the grand scheme of things, then I must pause and tell the truth.  I do some good things each day I am in the classroom with my students.

1.  I say “Good morning” or “Good afternoon” each day to my students as they enter the room and then once again as I start my class.

2.  I post the agenda on my projector screen in the form of a PowerPoint.  It’s there every single class period.

3.  I grade papers in a timely manner and post my lesson plans each week as required.

4.  I attend baseball games and some school-sponsored events that my kids attend just to lend them support.  Their eyes light up when they see you are there for them on your own time.  It’s a win-win situation because you never forget them, and I’ll wager they never forget you either.

5.  I keep my classroom blog regularly updated with information for my students and their parents.

6.  I walk nearly every day in the morning before school because it keeps my mind clear of cobwebs and makes me happy.

7.  I dress professionally daily and don’t always wear jeans when permitted.  As a result, I stand out and appear different.  I am different because that is how I am wired.  I like looking nice at work even if no one tells me that I look nice, I know I’ve made myself feel good.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

