My Favorite Things

A couple of weeks ago, I came up with an idea to celebrate one unique attribute for each student.  I wrote two lines from the Sound of Music classic tune “My Favorite Things,” added the sentence starter, “One of my favorite things is,” and completed something positive for each student.  I punched two holes in the top of the card and tied a ribbon through it.  Lastly, I curled the ribbon and carefully packed my words to my students.  When I showed them to my husband, he suggested that I send an email to the parents to let them know what I had done in case some of my male students thought nothing of it.  He implied that some of my young ladies would treasure it always.  I don’t know if that will happen, but so many of them have blessed my life, and I want to say thank you by mentioning an observation about them.  I know I will improve upon the idea for next year’s group, but it is a place to start right now.

“Brown paper packages tied up with strings.

These are a few of my favorite things.”

Example of card I will send home with my students on the last day of school.

Example of card I will send home with my students on the last day of school.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

