Time to Get Busy

In three months, my young charges will take the STAAR (or State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness) tests covering mathematics and reading skills.  I will work with some of my struggling students on concepts where needed, and will work with the classes as a whole where everyone pretty much needs the extra help.  I do well once the pieces are put into place by minds equipped for scheduling and planning.  Once I see something and understand how it works, I can implement it with few problems.  I just like having a plan to follow.

I went to see a soccer game that featured three former students.  It was fun to see the guys in a different light since two of them regularly stop by at least once a month to visit and make me feel like a million bucks.  I used to call them “my footies” since they love football (as they would naturally refer to soccer).  We’d check the scores on ESPN to see how their teams would fare.  I don’t have any footies this year that I know of, yet.  I saw some former students playing basketball on Thursday night before heading out to my monthly Bunco game.  They are thrilled when I take the time to attend; I have a marvelous memory to share with them; it is win-win-win!  If you’ve never gone to a concert or game where you have students participating, you must do so as soon as possible.  Even if you only make it to one per student/sport, you have made an impact on that young person’s life.  They know that you love them.  ¡Ciao!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

