Done for This Year!

We had two days of state testing aka STAAR with our students.  I let them listen to our novel we’ve been reading after the testing concluded today and yesterday. I had already made them finish reading on their own and thought that listening might benefit them.  My colleagues took their classes outdoors.  I wasn’t dressed for the occasion with four-inch strappy sandals on my feet, so we relaxed indoors.  I even began to redecorate my classroom during my conference period.  We are required to remove any instructional writing or posters from our walls.  Motivational posters may be all right, but I took no chances and only had the pledge of allegiance to the American and Texas flags visible along with the safety information that we’re required to post for quick reference. I know the students are relieved to be done; we teachers who are proctors share their relief.  I am also glad to have my classroom back to “normal” setting with its colorful, eclectic display of motivation and instructional works.  Tomorrow will find me posting their haiku poems we created for National Haiku Day last week on April 17.  Last year, I wore my yukata kimono with obi for Haiku Day; this year I’d already worn it for the day we reviewed foreign language vocabulary since that’s one of the words on the school district’s list. I’ve included a picture of me in my kimono below.  My young charges like the fact that I don unique clothing/costumes to tie in to what we’re studying that day. I come by it honestly since Mama matches her clothes and dresses thematically at times.  She is  a Red Hatter, so she’s the proud owner of a few red hats and purple dresses to accompany them.  It’s part of the costume.  I relish the day I get to join her group.  I’m still not old enough yet.  ¡Ciao!

Taken Christmas 2008

Taken Christmas 2008

Tagged

Leave a Reply

