Busy Little Bees on Overdrive

My students will be working on reading passages, writing prompts, and listening skills in the last nine days of school. I tried to find high-interest articles that would fire their imaginations as they learned something new. I also plan to play a review game about sentence structure and function using Kahoot! on the penultimate day of school.

The majority of my students may be vacation-minded, yet they are compliant with my directives. A small percentage would love to pull their cronies off-task and openly rebel; however, I actively monitor their activities to keep order. One of my younger colleagues passed on a suggestion that I am conditionally allowing—reading books on electronic devices. She utilizes the Overdrive app on her device. Some of her recalcitrant clientele received instruction on how to download and use it, too; now, they are engaged with books of their own choosing. Our librarian had previously mentioned this to our classes; it was on my phone at one time; somehow, I forgot about it. Now, I am allowing my students to download the app and a book with the condition that if I ask to see their phone, I’m going to see a book and nothing else. We shall see how it progresses.

RLT

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

