A Different Spirit

This year marks my twenty-first on the other side of the desk. This year has a different spirit about it. The students are still learning to heed directions the first time as they settle in to the routine. My stress level is not elevated. My schedule usually allows me to break my instruction into manageable chunks. There are times when I find myself running out of time or having too few tasks to complete. I allow them time to read their books and enjoy the written word. Today, I had three students stay after school in tutorials to work on their assignments. All three had forgotten to check in with their parents in sufficient time to prevent a little maternal worry. Sigh. They will know next time. Their determination impressed me.

RLT

Tagged

Leave a Reply

