It’s Time

I am of the opinion that it is time for a two week long break. My students need two weeks at home with their parents who have long since gained an appreciation for the herding cats portion of my job. I have graded papers including research essays, presentations, quizzes, homework assignments, weekly warm-ups and tests and will post the grades on the electronic grade book before I ride off into the early winter sunset.

Some of my students are so restless that they have temporarily suspended logical reasoning a la Pink Floyd’s A Momentary Lapse of Reason. To bring them back to Earth, when they enter my room, they encounter an atmosphere that is quiet. I don’t practice chaos, and a small minority thrive on boundary testing; these  daredevils who balance precariously on the precipice of danger hope to “cheat death” once more.

To assist my students’ focus, I will include the following image on tomorrow’s agenda.

I Fake Text 12-18-2015

A sense of humor alleviates the often stressful mission countless of other educators and I have undertaken.

RLT

Leave a Reply

