Still on Break

10277695_1095312643814676_2361166358841545185_n.jpg

This was the scene on my morning walk. The eleven year old tomboy wanted to slide across the ice and yell, “Whee!” at the top of her lungs. The rational, twenty-year teaching veteran said, “Yep, imagine telling that story to my young daredevils about how I managed to crack some bones.” No thanks.

The tomboy says, “Chicken.” My reply is “Ba-kawk!”

There are still days left to measure the remainder of my Christmas and New Year’s holiday break. I have no intention of rushing through these precious, restorative hours, minutes, and seconds and wish away my life. No, I am quite content to maintain my own schedule for chores, meals, and fun. On Thursday, I plan to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens with my husband and son for a New Year’s Eve treat. I anticipate it just like we did when Revenge of the Sith debuted ten years ago. Don’t spoil it for me.

RLT

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

