No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

Bang Head Here

The mom who wrote about my “unreasonable deadline” was understanding and appreciated my clarification when I explained the extra time and attention I took for the group of students who missed out to being in school due to an extracurricular activity. The student had completed the work, so things looked good in my grade book. Check off one parent who may not have agreed with me, but we worked it out.

Now I am scratching my head after a different parent wrote me this evening because his student does not have the work to complete the writing assignment. It is not in her possession. I cannot say if it is lost at home or in her locker. She does not have what she needs to do the work. I sent it electronically (during my protected family time!) after dad asked for a suggestion on what to do. I also carbon-copied my administrator just to keep her in the loop in the event that backlash rears its head. This is the same child who felt I hurt her feelings five weeks ago. At times I feel that no good deed goes unpunished. I am simply waiting for the other shoe to drop. Just waiting. Tick-tock. Tick-tock. Tick-tock.

RLT

Leave a Reply

