Be Careful, My Dears

We will be completing partner work next week in the library. I chose the partners for my students. One of my more talkative students was persistent with the noise level during work time. I announced partnerships. As the Future Ladykiller prepared to leave, he asked if he could not be partnered with Watchful Wally. “We talk a lot, Mrs. Johnson.” Feigning surprise and barely restraining a smile, or was it just a baring of teeth with my eyes crinkling in the corners?

“Future Ladykiller, this will be an oppportunity for you two to focus.” He left.

Watchful Wally was so pleased to be paired with his buddy. Why such a moniker? He watches me during work time if I happen to sit at my desk or walk about. I told him today, “If you are doing what you are supposed to be doing, then you never have to worry about where I am or who I am watching.” He responded, “Yes, ma’am.”

RLT

One thought on “Be Careful, My Dears

  1. Dee says:

    I love your pearly words of wisdom. They needed to hear it.

Leave a Reply

