Tongue in Check

Today I managed (purely by the grace of God!) to hold my tongue when I wanted nothing more than to verbally filet a pair of sassy young ladies who tested me. They are in different grade levels and classes I teach, but the disrespectful attitude was in full force. 

I did not hold my tongue when a talebearing student tried to talk about what I had done in his class. I barked, “Close your mouth, and go to your next class!” Gossip infuriates me. Absolutely without a doubt. And then do not act like it’s no big deal to be a jerk and smear my name wherever and whenever you want. I am not paranoid. I know vitriolic parents have posted about me but refuse to check for myself. Even my alligator hide might crack and tears would pour down my cheeks. Words do hurt. I just don’t want to see, so I do try to keep my tongue in check and not boil over unless I feel the need. Abba, Father God, I am in Your hands. Amen.

RLT

Leave a Reply

