Working the Charm

Papi is at it again. He is not doing his work, and now my class is included. He loves to talk about anything not school related and make comments under his breath. He deliberately speaks softly so that his intended audience gets closer to listen. If I acknowledge that he has spoken, I look at him and say, “Do you think I am listening?”

“Yes, ma’am.”

“Wrong.” Yesterday and today I made him stay with me after class to get some of his work completed. There are times that I wish I could truly treat him like my own son. Other times, I am glad he goes home to some other mama.

Today he was bouncy in my reading lab class. Almost jovial. Spooky. Monday in social studies, he was dark and broody. “Can I call you ‘Mrs. J’?”

“Yes.” He looked pleased and surprised not knowing or realizing I’ve had this nickname for years. I chuckled to myself later on. The LORD put this young man into my life for a reason, and I am in his life for a reason. One day it will come to me. In the meanwhile, I am after him to get his work completed and not to let himself (or me!) down. Sigh!

RLT

Leave a Reply

