Letting Go

I have had students who would not perform up to my expectations. They consistently sold themselves short and wasted time. I had a conversation with one of my current  charges who falls into this category. I told him I was not going to work harder than him. I was not accepting responsibility for his grades and performance in my classes if he would not try. I told him I thought he wanted to learn and get better at reading. I am letting him go. I will correct his misbehavior when I see it. I will let his parents take care of the home portion – doing homework assignments, basic care of needs, spiritual nourishment, etc. I can only “control” the forty-two to forty-five minutes I see him. Beyond that, I pray he has an appropriate catalyst to move forward, or I fear he will regress. I am releasing him to his own choices.

RLT

Leave a Reply

